We've set up our billing processes to make it easy for users to have and manage multiple subscriptions and machines with one invoice.
- Paperspace Billing Model
- Creating a New Machine
- Monthly Subscriptions
- Hourly Subscriptions
- Changing from Hourly to Monthly
- Changing from Monthly to Hourly
- Upgrading Machine Types
- Deleting Machines
All Paperspace virtual machines are based on a recurring monthly subscription model. That means that on the first of every month you'll be charged for your machine. On monthly machines, you're charged upfront for unlimited access that month. On hourly machines, you are billed for the hours you used in the previous month and your storage for that month.
If you ever want to terminate your subscription simply deactivate your machines (though you may still expect an invoice in that month for hourly usage.) See the Monthly and Hourly plans sections for more detail.
Paperspace billing runs on a first-of-the-month recurring cycle. When you create a new machine, your credit card is charged the full monthly fee. To keep your billing on the first of the month, you are also immediately credited for the prorated number of days for which you've had that machine. That credit will reflect on the second month of billing. After that, all subscriptions are billed on the 1st of the month. This consolidates billing to once a month since most of our users have more than one machine.
Note: Immediately after provisioning, your machine will be in an ON state and ready to use.
Monthly plans are billed the flat rate for unlimited access to the machine for the upcoming month. If an upgrade happens in the middle of the month, you will be billed immediately for the upgrade at a prorated rate for the remainder of that month. If you cancel your account or delete your machine, you will continue to have access to your machine until the end of the current billing cycle.
When you delete a monthly machine, you maintain access to it for the rest of the month.
Note: The monthly fee is prorated the second month to accommodate for the discrepancy between when you sign up and when our billing cycle occurs (1st of each month).
With an hourly machine, you are charged a flat fee for storage plus an hourly rate for your usage. Hourly usage is prorated down to the millisecond. At signup/machine creation, you are charged the monthly storage fee. On the next billing cycle, you are charged for your usage during the previous month + the storage fee for the next month.
This is an affordable way to run a very powerful machine or a machine you know you won't need running for extended periods of time. You must completely power down your machine in the interface or directly within the OS to stop accruing your hourly charge. Logging out of Paperspace will not end your session.
When you delete an hourly machine, it will leave your console and be deleted immediately. Your account is credited for the storage of the machine that was unused, and your hourly usage will appear in the upcoming month's invoice.
Note: The storage fee is pro-rated the second month to accommodate for the discrepancy between when you sign up and when our billing cycle occurs (1st of each month).
You can change your machine from hourly billing to paying a flat monthly rate by selecting the option to do so in the Upgrade section of your machine's page. When you do so, you'll be charged for the hours used up until that point, and you'll be credited for the monthly storage fee on your hourly machine for the prorated number of days for which you had it. Your account will be debited the full monthly cost of the machine, and then prorated for the number of days in the month remaining. All credits carry over to the following month's billing on the first of the month. Your machine will appear as Monthly on your invoice and reflect this adjusted billing.
You can change your machine from monthly to hourly in the Upgrade section of your machine's settings page. When you do so, that machine will be credited to reflect the prorated time in the month in which it was monthly. On your upcoming invoice, you'll be charged for your storage, any hours used, and credit from that upgrade will apply to the total.Your machine will appear as Hourly on your invoice and reflect this adjusted billing.
Some machines have the option to upgrade between certain machine types. In this case, you will be billed for the first machine type until the upgrade date, and then you're billed for the second machine type. For example, if you have a Monthly Standard machine and upgrade it to Advanced mid-month, your invoice will reflect the upgrade by charging you for the difference in cost between the machines, and then you are billed the monthly rate for the new machine type.
You can delete/deactivate machine at any time through the Console. When you delete an hourly machine, you lose access to it immediately and are credited the storage fee for the remainder of the month. When you delete a monthly machine it will remain in the Console for the rest of the month, since you paid for it up front. No credit is received for the deletion of monthly machines.
Note: Account credit for proration is non-refundable or transferable.